FOR ALL WE KNOW - new album 22 march

Here you will find all information about the new For All We Know album, By Design Or By Disaster. For All We Know the solo project of Within Temptation guitarist Ruud Jolie.

For additional information or scheduling interviews:

For All We Know has been Ruud Jolie’s (Within Temptation) side project since 2011.
That was the year For All We Know’s self titled debut album was released, followed by the second album ‘Take Me Home’ in 2017. During the Covid pandemic he started to think about releasing a third record called ‘By Design Or By Disaster’.

For the music and lyrics of the album Jolie collaborated again with vocalist Wudstik and the band consists of the same musicians that played on the first two albums; Léo Margarit (Pain of Salvation), Kristoffer Gildenlöw (ex Pain of Salvation) and Marco Kuypers (ex Cloudmachine)

The 11 songs were produced by Jolie himself and range from heavy thrashy metal to delicate lullabies. In comparison to the first two albums, ‘By Design Or By Disaster’ takes the listener to even more extremes; nice soft lush string textures to straight up ‘in your face’ pounding rhythms and guitars. But Jolie was still looking for melodies and harmonies you don’t see coming. Like with the previous two albums there’s still ‘no colouring in between the lines’ so to speak. For the attentive listener there are a few easter eggs to be found: There are some melodies from the first two albums that have made their way onto this one so together with the first two records this album creates a musical triptych. The same applies to the artwork.

‘By Design Or By Disaster’ is not a concept album but there is a red thread going through it from a lyrical point of view. It is about the journey of a young man making his way through life and the relationships he creates along the way. The struggles he is going through with his parents, his romances and later on when he has a child himself. It is as if he is looking in the mirror the whole time. Hence the three characters in the artwork; it’s the same person but shown in three phases of his life. The two grown ups are blindfolded by the blue ribbons. This represents our bias or prejudice. Because whether we want to or not, the older we get, the more we can be stuck in who we (think we) are. The baby on the other hand still has an open mind and view to the world. It is not clouded. ‘By Design Or By Disaster’ will be released by Construction Records on March 22nd.

Band line-up

Wudstik - Vocals & Screams
Léo Margarit - Drums, Backing vocals
Kristoffer Gildenlöw - Bass, Backing vocals
Marco Kuypers - Piano
Ruud Jolie - Guitars, Backing vocals & additional keys/programming


01. Forced To Be Free
02. Lifeline
03. This Hell We Know
04. The Future That Came Too Soon
05. All We Did Was Hide
06. Hush
07. Remind Me To Forget You
08. Flaws
09. Guide Me In Getting Lost
10. Ghosts of Summer’s Past
11. Goodbye


For all media inquiries:

We would like everyone else to contact us through our Facebook page


Album cover
1400 x 1400px, RBG

Press photos 2000px, RGB

For All We Know logo
- Download EPS (black)
- Download PNG (black)
- Download PNG (white)